Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Land Trust and TSSA Funding -2019-2020 School Year

Land Trust Allocation for the 2019-2020 School Year is $50,543.  This funding will be used to fund half-time teacher salary and three reading intervention assistants.  Our Teacher Student Success Act Funding (TSSA) is $46,252.  This funding is being used to pay for a half time counselor and part-time assistant hours.

2019-2020 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Lori Jones – Principal

Greg Anjewierden– Chair/Parent

Margot Bishop – Vice Chair/Faculty

Travis Holt – Secretary/Parent

Angela Oviatt – Faculty

Kurt Stevens – Parent

Kaati Tarr – Parent

Stephanie Larson – Parent

Jon Williams – Parent

Deidre Schoenfeld – Parent

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at Oakdale Elementary at 4pm in the faculty room.

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Thursday, March 12, 2020

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Thursday, May 14, 2020

2019-2020 Minutes, Agendas, and Reports

Close Menu
Translate »